Masters & PhDs by Research Scheme

Masters & PhDs by Research Scheme


  • Eligibility Criteria

  • Eligible Higher Education Institutions

  • Scheme Priority Disciplines

Scheme Details

Scholarships for Masters & PhDs by Research Scheme – 30
Awards (20 for Masters (15 Local and 5 in New Zealand) and 10
for PhDs (7 Local and 3 in New Zealand)).

Eligibility Criteria

An applicant must:

  • be a Fiji citizen.
  • be ordinarily resident in Fiji for at least three (3) years before the award commencement date unless determined by the Board or delegated authority on case-by-case basis.
  • be enrolled for full time studies by research and not be engaging in any form of employment.
  • not be an existing student enrolled for a PhD or Masters programme by research.
  • secure a candidature confirmation letter in one of the local eligible Universities or at an eligible New Zealand University.
  • not be an existing TSLS sponsored/funded student or sponsored through any other agency.
  • Eligible Tertiary Education Institutions

  • Auckland University of Technology.
  • Fiji National University.
  • Massey University.
  • The University of Auckland.
  • The University of the South Pacific.
  • University of Fiji.
  • Victoria University of Wellington
  • University of Waikato
  • University of Canterbury
  • Scheme Priority Disciplines

  • Medical & Health Services.
  • Engineering Services.
  • Climate Change / Environmental Science.
  • Marine Science
  • Forestry.
  • Public Policy and Analysis.
  • Economic Modelling and Policies.
  • Public Financing.
  • Information Technology Services.
  • Any Social Science discipline.
    • Register on
      TSLS Apply

    • Fill
      Online Form

    • Submit

    • Application

    • Scholarship